National Teaching citations and awards

About this page

The JERAA would like to congratulate all those members who have been recognised with an award or citation by the Office of Learning and Teaching. Citations recognise and reward the diverse contribution that individuals and teams make to the quality of student learning. Citations are awarded to academic, general and sessional staff, and institutional associates, who have made significant contributions to student learning in a specific area of responsibility over a sustained period of no less than 3 years. Citations provide an opportunity for distinctive institutional missions, values and priorities in learning and teaching to be recognised.

University of Southern Queensland 2017
Dr Dianne Jones
For facilitating students’ development as job-ready professionals, with the capabilities to flourish in journalism and media roles and thrive in a competitive industry.
Edith Cowan University 2016
Ass Prof Trevor Cullen
Australian Award for Teaching Excellence
The Education Minister, Hon. Simon Birmingham, who presented the national award to Prof Cullen in Canberra said: "In receiving this award you have been recognised as being among Australia's most outstanding university teachers. You have demonstrated excellent leadership in the field of communication and media studies through your commitment to innovation and quality teaching.
Bond University 2016
Ms Caroline Graham
For facilitating inspiring national publishing opportunities for journalism students that place them at the forefront of industry innovations, develop employability skills and engage with industry.
James Cook University  2014
Dr Amy Forbes
For leadership and excellence in developing and delivering a pioneering WIL-based curriculum in multi-media journalism resulting in highly employable graduates: Wired for Employment
Deakin University      2013
Miss Kristy Hess
For excellence in advancing news reporting practices among rural and regional journalism students through innovative, research-led curriculum and professional expertise
La Trobe University      2013
Dr Lawrie Zion and Dr Christopher Scanlon
For the development of an authentic learning environment in the discipline of journalism through the website upstart and its integration into the curriculum
Swinburne University of Technology
Dr Andrew Dodd
For fostering innovative teaching and learning of journalism through the co-creation of real world digital content in partnership with the news websiteCrikey
University of Technology, Sydney    2013
Ms Jenna Price
For a sustained commitment to improving student retention and engagement for journalism students from day one to employment
University of Wollongong    2013
Mr Shawn Burns
For innovative approaches to curriculum development that model industry best practice in journalism and foster community engagement and understanding
Bond University    2013
Dr Jane Johnston
For responding to a curriculum need and enhancing learning in public relations education by developing Australian resources and using them to teach theory and practice
University of Wollongong    2008
Professor Stephen Tanner and Dr Marcus O'Donnell
For the engagment of media professionals and local community in ongoing review, implementation and refinement of a responsive and creative curriculum for jouranlism students.
Deakin University      2008
Dr Colleen Murrell
For fusing creative student learning to industry best practice through the design of authentic and engaging curricula and relevant assessment tasks in journalism.



Ass Prof Trevor Cullen's views on teaching. Watch the video here: