Courses

About this page

The following diploma- and degree-level courses are offered by educational institutions in Australia and the South Pacific. In listing these courses, the JERAA is only providing information and this should not be considered a formal endorsement or recommendation for the programs.

AUSTRALIA

Bond University
Contact: Caroline Graham, Faculty of Society and Design, Bond University, Qld, 4229. office phone: 07 5595 2538

Central Queensland University
Contact: Ms Kerrie Bloxsom, Program Adviser (Arts, Digital Innovation, Professional Communication and Journalism) Ph: 07 4930 9681 Fax: 07 4930 9604

Charles Sturt University
Contact: Journalism Course Coordinator Chris McGillion, Head, School of Communication, Faculty of Arts, Panorama Avenue, Bathurst, NSW, 2795. Ph: 02 63384047. Fax: 02 6338 44099.

Curtin University
Contact: Dr Joseph M Fernandez , Head, Department of Journalism, School of Media, Culture and Creative Arts, Faculty of Humanities, Room 424, Building 208, Curtin University, GPO Box U1987 Perth, WA 6845. Ph: 08 9266 2976. Fax: 08 9266 3152.

Deakin University
Contact: Dr Lisa Waller, School of Communication & Creative Arts, Faculty of Arts & Education, Deakin University Ph: 03 5227 1342. Email: lisa.waller@deakin.edu.au.

Edith Cowan University
Contact: Assoc Prof Trevor Cullen, Head of Journalism, School of Communications and Contemporary Arts, Edith Cowan University, 2 Bradford Street, Perth, WA 6050. Ph: 08 9370 6354. Fax: (08) 9370 6668.

Griffith University (Brisbane campus)
Contact: Assoc Prof Susan Forde, School of Humanities, Griffith University, Nathan, QLD, 4111. PH: (07) 3735 7229
s.forde@griffith.edu.au

Griffith University (Gold Coast campus)
Contact: Prof Steve Stockwell, School of Humanities, Griffith University, Gold Coast, Southport, QLD, 4215. Ph: (07) 555 28871, s.stockwell@griffith.edu.au

James Cook University
Contact: Dr Amy Forbes, Course Coordinator, BA Multimedia Journalism and Writing, School of Arts, Society and Education, James Cook University, Townsville, QLD 4810 Ph:   07 4781 6381. Email: amy.forbes@jcu.edu.au

Jschool
Contact: Prof John Henningham, Director, Jschool, GPO Box 1275, Brisbane, Qld, 4001. (private college). Ph: 07 3232 1575. Fax: 07 3232 1505.

La Trobe University
Contact: Professor Lawrie Zion, Head of Department, Communication and Media, College of Arts, Social Sciences and Commerce, La Trobe University, Victoria, 3086. Ph: 03 9479 2961. Email: l.zion@latrobe.edu.au

Macleay College
Contact: Monica Attard, Head of Journalism, Macleay College, Level 2, 28 Foveaux Street, Surry Hills, NSW 2010. Ph: 02 8373 5101.Email:mattard@macleay.edu.au

Melbourne University
Contact: Assoc Prof Margaret Simons, and Director of the Centre for Advancing Journalism.

Monash University
Contact: Philip Chubb, Head of Journalism. Ph: 03 9902 4948.

Murdoch University
Contact: Andrew Porter, Journalism Program Chair, School of Arts, South Street, Murdoch, WA, 6050. Ph: 08 9360 2534. Fax: 08 9360 6570.

University of Notre Dame Australia
Contact: Sydney Campus Dr Camilla Nelson, Discipline Head, Communications, Camilla.Nelson@nd.edu.au Telephone: (61 2) 8204 4400
Contact: Fremantle Campus  Dr Mignon Shardlow, Course Coordinator, Journalism, Mignon.Shardlow@nd.edu.au
(61 8) 9433 0555 / FREECALL: 1800 640 500

Queensland University of Technology
Contact: Assoc Prof Leo Bowman, Head of Journalism, Media & Communication, QUT Creative Industries Precint, Kelvin Grove  QLD  4059. Email: l.bowman@qut.edu.au. Ph: 07 3138 8163

Contact: Ms Susan Hetherington, Subject Area Coordinator for Journalism, QUT Creative Industries Precint, Kelvin Grove QLD, 4059. Email: s.hetherington@qut.edu.au. Ph: 07 3138 8159

RMIT University
Contact: Dr Philip Dearman, Undergraduate Program Director, Journalism, Media and Communication, RMIT University GPO Box 2476 Melbourne,  Victoria 3001 Ph: 03  9925 5216

Contact: Maree Curtis, Graduate Diploma Program Director, edia and Communication, RMIT University GPO Box 2476 Melbourne,  Victoria 3001 Ph: 03  9925 500.

Southern Cross University
Contact: Ms Jeanti St Clair, Lecturer, Media Program  School of Arts and Social Sciences  Southern Cross University T: (02) 6620 3126 , jeanti.stclair@scu.edu.au

Swinburne University
Contact:  Dr Andrew Dodd, Convenor Journalism, Swinburne University of Technology. PO Box 218 Hawthorn Vic 3122. 0392148351 adodd@swin.edu.au

University of Adelaide
Contacts: Dr Kathryn Bowd, Senior Lecturer, University of Adelaide, SA 5005, kathryn.bowd@adelaide.edu.au, 08 83135617; Dr Peter Pugsley, Head of Media, University of Adelaide, SA 5005, peter.pugsley@adelaide.edu.au, 08 8313 5620.

University of Canberra
Contact: Dr Glen Fuller, journalism course convenor, University of Canberra, ACT, 2601.

University of Newcastle
Contacts: Ms Felicity Biggins: 02 4921 6781, felicity.biggins@newcastle.edu.au; Dr Janet Fulton: 02 4921 6923 janet.fulton@newcastle.edu.au; Ms Christina Koutsoukos: 02 4921 8775, Christina.koutsoukos@newcastle.edu.au; Mr Paul Scott: 02 4921 8644, paul.scott@newcastle.edu.au

University of Queensland
Contact: Dr Levi Obijiofor, Director, Bachelor of Journalism; Director, Bachelor of Arts (Journalism and Mass Communication), School of Communication and Arts, The University of Queensland, St Lucia Campus, Qld 4072. Ph.: (07) 3346 8241. Emaill.obijiofor@uq.edu.au

University of South Australia

Contact: Dr Patrizia Furlan, Program Director (Journalism and Professional Writing), School of International Studies, Communication and Languages, UniSA, Magill, SA, 5072. Ph: 08 8302 4039. Email: patrizia.furlan@unisa.edu.au

University of Southern Queensland
Contact: Ms Dianne Jones, Journalism Co-ordinator, School of Humanities and Communication, USQ, Toowoomba, QLD, 4350. Ph: 07 4631 1052

University of the Sunshine Coast
Contact:  Dr Renee BarnesSenior Lecturer and Program Leader in Journalism School of Communication, Maroochydore DC, QLD, 4558.  

University of Sydney
Contact: Prof Gerard Goggin, Chair of Department, Media and Communications, School of Letters, Art and Media, Faculty of Arts, University of Sydney, NSW 2006, Ph: 2 9114 1218, Fax: 02 9351 5444

University of Tasmania
Contact: Prof Libby Lester, School of Social Sciences, Private Bag 22, Hobart, Tas, 7001. Ph: 03 6226 2331. Email: Social.Sciences@utas.edu.au

University of Technology Sydney
Contact. Ms Jenna Price, Undergraduate Journalism Major Coordinator, Faculty of Arts and Social Sciences, PO Box 123, Broadway  NSW  2007. Ph: 95141680
Contact: Prof Alan Knight mobile 0448194512 Skype: knighta1949

University of Wollongong
Contact: Prof Stephen Tanner, Head of the School of Journalism and Creative Writing, Faculty of Creative Arts, , UOW, Wollongong, NSW, 2500. Ph: 02 4221 4940. Fax: 02 4221 3301.

Western Sydney University
Contact: Dr Asha Chand, Journalism Area Convenor, School of Humanities and Communication Arts, Western Sydney University, Penrith South DC 1797. Ph: 02 9852 5643. Email: a.chand@westernsydney.edu.au

 

NEW ZEALAND

Auckland University of Technology
Contact: Dr Helen Sissons, Curriculum Leader, Journalism, School of Communications Studies, Faculty of Design and Creative Technologies, AUT University, Private Bag 92006, Auckland, 1142, New Zealand. Ph: +64 9 921 9999 ext 7859 Fax +64 9 921 9987.

Pacific Media Centre
Contact: Prof David Robie, Director, Pacific Media Centre, School of Communication Studies, Faculty of Design and Creative Technologies, AUT University, WG1028, Sir Paul Reeves Building, 2 Governor Fitzroy Pl, Auckland City, New Zealand. Ph: +64 9 921 9999 ext 7834 Email:david.robie@aut.ac.nz  

University of Canterbury
Contact: Jim Tully, Head, Department of Mass Communication and Journalism, University of Canterbury, Christchurch, New Zealand. Ph: 03 364 2881. Fax: 03 364 2414.

Wintec
Contact: Charles Riddle, Journalism Programme Manager, Wintec, Private Bag 3036 Hamilton New Zealand. Ph + 64 7 834 8800. Fax: 07 834 8811.

Massey University (Wellington)
Contact: Dr Grant Hannis, Head of School of Journalism, Massey University at Wellington, Private Box 756, Wellington, New Zealand. Ph: +64 4 801 2794, Ext 6378, Fax: +64 4 801 2693

 

OTHERS

University of the South Pacific (Fiji)
Contact: Shailendra Singh, Divisional Head, Journalism, USP, PO Box 1168, Suva, Fiji. Ph: 679 212 685. Fax: 679 313 238.

Divine Word University (Papua New Guinea)
Contact: Br Michael McManus, Head Communication Arts Department, Divine Word University, PO Box 483, Madang, Madang Province 511, Papua New Guinea. Ph: 675 852 3033. Fax: 675 8522937.

Please send us updates

If you see that any of the course information needs updating, please email us your corrections.